Share a file

You can provide other users with access to .xodt files created in the Cloud. The access to files is provided so that the users could view, edit and/or manage the access rights to files. To share access to a file, follow these steps:

1.Open the file in the Cloud.

2.In the Command menu, click Share > Sharing Settings.

3.In the window that appears, specify the users you want to share the file with in one of the following ways:

Enter the name and email address of each user manually.

Click the contact_book_icon Choose contacts button and select the users one by one.

4.Specify the sharing settings for the selected users by choosing them from a drop-down list to the right of their name and email address:

View: Users can view the document, the comments to the document, and download the document.

Edit: Users are entitled to View the document and have the possibility to edit the document.

Manage: Users are entitled to View and Edit the document and also to manage the access right settings, such as providing the access rights to the new users and change the access rights of the existing users.

Access Denied: Block the user access the document.

5.If you want to notify all users about changes in the file sharing settings, select the Notify by email check box.

You cannot use the Notify by email option if:

The email address is invalid.

File sharing settings have been changed.

Access to the file is denied.

Access rights are provided to a group but not to individual users.

6.Click the Add button to add the selected users to the list of users with access to the file.

7.Click the Close button to close the Sharing Settings window.

Change sharing settings

A user with the Manage access level can change share settings for other users except the Owner of the file.

If the Owner of the file is deleted from the system by the administrator, a mark (inactive) is displayed to the right of his/her name.

To do this, follow the steps below:

1.Open the file in the Cloud.

2.On the Share menu, click Sharing Settings.

3.In the window that opens, specify the sharing settings for the individual users using the drop-down lists next to their names.

4.Click the Close button.

Revoke access to files

A user with the Can manage access level can revoke access rights from other users except the Owner of the file.

If the Owner of the file is deleted from the system by the administrator, a mark (inactive) is displayed to the right of his/her name.

To do this, follow the steps below:

1.Open the file in the Cloud.

2.On the Share menu, click Sharing Settings.

3.In the window that opens, click users_remove_icon Revoke Permission next to the names of the users you want to revoke the permission from.

4.Click the Close button.

Was this helpful?
Yes
No
Previous
Restore file or folder
Next
Collaboration