To track and record important changes in text and tabular documents, the application includes a feature allowing to create new versions. New versions of documents are created manually by the user or automatically (if enabled by the system administrator). Each of the created versions is displayed in the Version history.

If the system administrator has enabled the feature to automatically create documents versions and set an interval for saving document revisions. The document owner and the user with management edits can enable/disable automatic creation of versions for the selected document.

All versions of the document are counted in the document owner's quota.

The version has a name, date and time of creation.

The document version can be restored (made current), viewed, renamed, saved as a new document, downloaded, or deleted, marked or unmarked.. Access to view and control versions is denied to users with view permissions.

Enable or disable automatic creation of versions

To enable/disable automatic creation of versions of a document, use one of the following methods:

Click Auto create versions in the properties window in the Sidebar of the main window.

Right-click the file name in the Workspace, then select Version history  > Auto create versions in the context menu that appears.

Go to Version history and click Auto create versions in the upper right corner of the window.

After enabling Auto create versions for a document, when editing the document by any user who has access, a new version will be created automatically:

At the interval set by the administrator since the last change in the document within the editing session.

At the end of editing on the document, when the document will be closed for all users who have access and there are changes in the document after the last creation of the auto version.

Versions created automatically are saved without a name.

When the automatic versioning mode is enabled, the user can mark/unmark the document version in the Version history. All versions created manually by the user are automatically marked. Versions created automatically are created without a mark.

Unmarked archived versions are automatically deleted when a new automatic version is created or when a version is unmarked. Marked versions are not automatically deleted and take up storage space.

Go to Version history

To go to Version history, do one of the following:

1.Right-click the file name in the Workspace, then select Version history > Open version history in the context menu that appears.

2.Select the desired file in the Workspace by left-clicking on the desired file icon or on a free area of the file line (not on the name), and click the Version history hyperlink in the properties window on the Sidebar.

The operation will open the latest version of the file in the current tab of the web browser, the Version history will be displayed on the screen:

history

At the top of the screen you can see an arrow button to exit the Version history, the name of the document whose history is open for viewing, switch to enable/disable autoversion of the document, as well as commands for working with the version:

Restore this version: To define the selected version as the current version (this line is not displayed for the new version of the file).

Save as...: To save the new version as a separate new file.

Download: To download the new version to the user's computer.

Print: To print the selected version of the file.

Delete: To delete the selected version of the file (this line is not displayed for the new (current) version of the file).

 

The Workspace displays the contents of the version selected in the Sidebar. At the bottom of the screen there is an information field with the number of the current page and the total number of pages in the document opened for previewing, as well as buttons to control the scale of the document display. For spreadsheets, it is possible to select the sheet displayed in the preview (if there are multiple sheets).

Document versions are grouped in the list on the Sidebar by version “created on” date (for the current version the date of the last document change is always displayed). The current version, versions created manually by the user, and versions renamed are automatically marked with a special symbol to the left of the name. The user can mark/unmark any version except the current one.

To close the version opened for preview and go to the list of files, click the arrow return to the left of the file name.

Create new version

To create a new version of a file:

1.Go to the file Version history on the Sidebar.

2.In the window that opens, click the Create new version button on the Sidebar. The new version will appear first in the list in the Sidebar and become the current version.

You can create a new version of the document using the context menu command Version history > Create new version, which can be opened by right-clicking on the document name in the file list. The new version will be created in the background and a pop-up notification will appear on the screen that the operation was completed successfully.

Actions with file versions

To select the document version you want to work with, go to the Version history, hover over the document version on the Sidebar and click the knpk_more_actions (More) button that appears in the version line. On the menu, select the desired operation:

Rename: To rename a file version.

Restore this version: To set the selected document version to the current version (the line is not displayed for the new document version).

Save as...: To save the new version as a separate new file.

Download: To download the new version to the user's computer.

Print: To print the selected version of the file.

Mark version/Unmark: Check/uncheck a box for the version that saves the version from automatic deletion and allows you to save the version until the box is unchecked. The unchecking operation is not available for the new (current) version of the document (the line is displayed only when the automatic creation of versions is enabled).

Delete: To delete the selected version of the file (this line is not displayed for the new (current) version of the file, as well as for the flagged).

To perform operations with the selected version of the document, you can use the commands at the top of the screen.

View file version

To view the file version:

1.Go to the Version history of the file.

2.In the version list, hover the mouse cursor over the desired version and left-click in the version line.

The selected version will be displayed in the Workspace.

Rename a version

To view the file version:

1.Go to the Version history of the file.

2.In the list of versions, place the pointer on the desired version and click the knpk_more_actions (More) button that appears.

3.On the menu that appears, select Rename.

4.Enter the new version name and click the ОК button.

The new version name appears in the list in the Sidebar.

Save a version as a separate file

To save a version as a separate file:

1.Go to the Version history of the file.

2.In the list of versions, place the pointer on the desired version and click the knpk_more_actions (More) button that appears.

3.On the menu that appears, select Save a copy. A dialog box for selecting a folder to save the version will be displayed.

4.If needed, create a new folder.

5.Finish saving the version by selecting the new element location in the dialog box and clicking Save.

To perform operations with the selected version of the document, use the Save a copy command at the top of the screen.

Mark version/Unmark

When the automatic versioning mode is enabled, the user can mark/unmark the document version in the Version history. All versions created manually by the user, the current version of the document, or versions renamed by the user are automatically marked. Versions created automatically are created without a mark.

To mark/unmark a document version:

1.Go to the Version history of the file.

2.In the version list, hover the mouse cursor over the desired version and left-click in the version line to select the version.

3.Click the knpk_more_actions (More) button in the line with the name of the version.

4.On the menu that appears, select Mark version/Unmark.

You cannot unmark the current version of the document.

Was the material useful?
Yes
No
Users found this material useful: 0 из 0