Skip to main content

Merge or unmerge cells

Merge cells​

You can merge any number of cells on the current sheet.

When merging cells:

  • The selected range becomes a single cell.
  • Only the data from the upper-left cell of the range is saved.
  • The formatting of the upper-left cell of the range is applied to the merged cell.

To merge cells, select them and do one of the following:

  • On the Home tab, in the Cells group, click t_design_merge_cells Merge cells.
  • Right-click the selected cell range and run the Merge cells command from the context menu.
  • Press Ctrl+Alt+M.

Unmerge cells​

You can only split those cells that have previously been merged.

To unmerge cells, select the cell created by merging and do one of the following:

  • On the Home tab, in the Cells group, click editor_merge_split_icon Unmerge cells.
  • Right-click the selected cell and run the Unmerge cells command from the context menu.
  • Press Alt+Shift+M.

The data that is contained in the merged cell is placed in the upper-left cell of the resulting range. Cells in the range will retain the formatting of the merged cell.