Skip to main content

Working with changes

Edits made to the document are displayed as callouts to the right of the document.

The app records the insertion, formatting, and deletion of various content elements as tracked changes. Edits made to footnote text are not tracked.

Different access rights are defined for working with changes in collaboration mode. The document owner and users with Manage rights can enable or disable change tracking. The document owner and users with Manage or Edit rights can accept or reject changes.

Enable or disable change tracking​

  1. In the upper right corner of the window, hover the cursor over the Track changes toggle.
  2. Click the left mouse button. The toggle will change state.

You can also press Ctrl+Alt+Shift+E (Cmd+Option+Shift+E).

When tracking is on, all new edits are recorded as tracked changes.

When tracking is off, new edits are made directly to the document and are not tracked. You can still view, accept, and reject changes made previously while tracking was enabled.

Change the display mode for tracked changes​

  1. On the Review tab, click the Changes button.
  2. Select one of the display modes.

Display modes:

  • Markup changes: all edits are highlighted in the text. Callouts with all unprocessed changes are displayed to the right.
  • Display document with changes: the document displays content with all changes incorporated. Callouts are hidden.
  • Display original document: the document displays the original content without changes. Callouts are hidden. This mode turns off automatically when new edits are made.

Show or hide change callouts​

  1. Ensure the Markup changes mode is enabled (see above).
  2. Click the Callouts button.
  3. Enable or disable the Changes option.

Go to a change​

  1. Ensure that Markup changes mode is enabled (see above).
  2. Click the callout for the desired change on the right side of the document. The change will be highlighted in the text.

You can also use the tools on the Review tab or keyboard shortcuts:

  • Next (Ctrl+Alt+Shift+N or Cmd+Option+Shift+N).
  • Previous (Ctrl+Alt+Shift+P or Cmd+Option+Shift+P).

Accept or reject a change​

  1. Ensure that Markup changes mode is enabled (see above).
  2. Click the callout for the desired change.
  3. On the callout, click the Accept change or Reject change button.

You can also use the tools on the Review tab or keyboard shortcuts:

  • Accept (Ctrl+Alt+Shift+A or Cmd+Option+Shift+A).
  • Reject (Ctrl+Alt+Shift+R or Cmd+Option+Shift+R).

Accept or reject all changes in the document​

  1. On the Review tab, click the arrow below the Accept or Reject button.
  2. Select All changes.