Delete data
You can completely remove data from cells using the Clear tool on the Home tab, in the Edit group. Also see Copy, clear formatting.
Clear data in cells
- Select the desired cells.
- Click the
Clear button.
- Select the desired data clearing option from the list.
Data clearing options:
- Clear all: removes all content (text, formulas, references), formatting, notes, and hyperlinks. Merged cells will be split.
- Clear formatting: resets cell formatting to default while keeping the content. Merged cells will be split.
- Delete contents: removes text, formulas, and other data while keeping cell formatting and notes.
- Delete notes: removes only the notes associated with the cells.
- Delete links: removes hyperlinks, leaving the text without its colored and underlined formatting.